• media-releases

Kon Yin Tong Re-elected As President of The Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants

20 June 2020 – Mr Kon Yin Tong, Managing Partner of Foo Kon Tan LLP, has been re-elected as the President of the national accountancy body, the Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants (ISCA). Ms Yvonne Chan, Director, Finance, Procurement & Administration, Enterprise Singapore, has been re-elected as Vice-President, and Mr Kelvin Tan, Adjunct Associate Professor, NUS Business School, has been re-elected as Secretary.  The election took place at a Council Meeting following the conclusion of the ISCA’s 2019/2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) held today.

Mr Roger Tay, Joint Head of Advisory at KPMG LLP, was elected Treasurer by the Council in April 2019 for a term of 2 years until the AGM in 2021.

In addition, seven other Council Members were re-elected at the AGM. This year, the AGM was held virtually in adherence with the Singapore Government’s safe distancing measures to reduce the risk of community spread of COVID-19.

Mr Kon was first elected ISCA President in 2018. With his re-election, he will serve another term as ISCA President until the AGM in 2022. As ISCA’s President, Mr Kon will also chair ISCA’s Executive Committee, the executive arm of the Council which oversees ISCA’s initiatives as well as operational and financial matters.   

“I am honoured to be elected President for another term. This is a time when the world is dealing with an unprecedented crisis. Like many professions, the accountancy profession faces challenges arising from the pandemic. My immediate focus is to work with ISCA’s Council and staff to support ISCA members and the accountancy profession through this challenging period,” said Mr Kon.

Re-elected Council Members

The re-elected Council members are:

  •          Mr Mohammad Shariq Sayeed Barmaky, Regional Managing Partner, Southeast Asia Audit & Assurance, 
             Deloitte & Touche LLP
  •          Mr Marcus Lam Hock Choon, Partner - Assurance Leader, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
  •          Mr Henry Tan Song Kok, Group CEO & Chief Innovation Officer, Nexia TS PAC
  •          Mr Dennis Chia, Chief Financial Officer, StarHub Ltd
  •          Ms Lai Chin Yee, Finance Director, Qian Hu Corporation Limited
  •          Ms Lelaina Lim Siew Li, Group Chief Financial Officer, Eu Yan Sang International Ltd
  •          Ms Yiong Yim Ming, Group Chief Financial Officer, City Developments Limited


For more information on the biographies of the re-elected Council Members, please refer to the Annexes.


For media queries, please contact:

Jennifer Toh, Director, Marketing Communications, Insights & Publications

Tel:  9877 6027

Email: jennifer.toh@isca.org.sg


Betsy Tan, Senior Communications Manager

Tel: 9641 6920

Email: betsy.tan@isca.org.sg

About the Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants

The Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants (ISCA) is the national accountancy body of Singapore. ISCA’s vision is to be a globally recognised professional accountancy body, bringing value to our members, the profession and wider community. There are over 32,000 ISCA members making their stride in businesses across industries in Singapore and around the world.

Established in 1963, ISCA is an advocate of the interests of the profession. Possessing a Global Mindset, with Asian Insights, ISCA leverages its regional expertise, knowledge, and networks with diverse stakeholders to contribute towards Singapore’s transformation into a global accountancy hub. ISCA is the Designated Entity to confer the Chartered Accountant of Singapore – CA (Singapore) – designation. ISCA is a member of Chartered Accountants Worldwide, a global family that brings together the members of leading institutes to create a community of over 1.8 million Chartered Accountants and students in more than 190 countries.

For more information, visit www.isca.org.sg.